I thought long and hard about the listicle I would like to do. I have decided to do a listicle on the struggles of a curly hair girl.

Some of you may not know this, but I am naturally a “curly girl”.

Just in case ya don’t believe me, here is the proof. I tend to straighten my hair often because it’s easier for me to handle.

IMG_3854 IMG_3856 IMG_3911

So, here we go!


10 STRUGGLES OF A CURLY HAIR GIRL

Us curly girls LOVE our hair. There’s versatility, there’s pizzazz, and there’s sass! But sometimes we get those moments where the love for our hair is overpowered by the struggles that come along with such a blessing. Here are 10 struggles of a curly hair girl.

  1. SHRINKAGE

halfstraightback-vi-1

Link

People’s first reactions to straightened curly hair are, “Oh wow! Your hair is so long!” I wish my hair was long when its curly as when it is straight.

2.PEOPLE TOUCHING YOUR HAIR

natural-hair-meme-adorkable

Link

People love to touch the curly hair! If you are ever tempted or curious, ask the person first. If they say “no” don’t feel offended…curly hair is hard to tame.

3. HUMIDITY IS YOUR ENEMY

B2HLgoyCIAAc7ky-1

Link

Rowan University always feels humid in the mornings and evenings. The best hairstyle for a curly girl on campus is a top bun.

4. STRAIGHTENING YOUR HAIR TAKES YEARS

hqdefault

Link

Straightening curly hair is an all day process. It usually looks something like this: Wash, condition, detangle, hair treatment, rinse hair treatment, roller set, sit under dryer until hair is fully dry, and then get your hair blow dried. If you want your hair pin straight you may also get it flat ironed after blow-drying.

5. YOU HAVE EXCESSIVE HAIR PRODUCTS

blogger-image--98968035

Link

Curly hair girls can never have enough hair products. We are always experimenting with new products we’ve heard about on Youtube from the natural hair gurus. If walgreens has a sale we are there to stack up for half the year. We also don’t wait for our products to be completely finished before we shop because we use so much of it to style our hair.

6. YOU’VE BROKEN ONE TOO MANY COMBS

51zPu9yEE9L._SL256_

Link

These combs are basically a no-no and this is why… well in my case these things make my head hurt and takes up hours of my time in the shower. So I opt for a paddle brush instead. Although there may be a little struggle sometimes, it always gets the job done, less painful, and a lot quicker.

7. YOUR HAIR IS ALWAYS KNOTTED

xhow-to-fix-matted-hair-21282581.jpg.pagespeed.ic.t7xwtejOaw

Link

It never fails, after detangling my hair my mother always asks if I unknotted it…um yes! We can’t help that our hair has a mind of its own. The struggle is real!

8. RUNNING OUT OF CONDITIONER

tumblr_inline_miejo2HJnV1qz4rgp

Link

You can never have enough conditioner. The key to untangling curly hair is to use excessive amounts of conditioner in order not to break and damage your hair or to be in pain from all the pulling. There will be no washing of the hair if there is no conditioner.

9. YOU SHED MORE THAN AN ANIMAL

stop-dog-shedding

Link

We find hair everywhere. You wouldn’t be able to commit a crime because they’d be able to identify you from the strands of hair your left behind. Guilty!

10. CURLY HAIR STYLES ONLY LOOK GOOD FOR TWO DAYS

morning-hair

Link

You get two fabulous days! Use them wisely!


It was challenging coming up with a listicle, but then I thought about all the ways I struggle with my own hair, and how I was sure there are other girls who go through the same struggles I do. My listicle is based off of personal experience and opinions. I wanted to bring in a little humor in the listicle with some of the memes I found as to not make having curly hair seem dreadful. I would say that I created a thematic listicle. It could have been a ranked listicle but I had a hard time deciding which struggles were worse than others. Having curly hair requires lots of maintenance. I had fun creating this listicle. The pictures I saw when I was googling hair struggles were pretty hilarious. I hope there’s a curly girl out there who could relate to my curly hair struggles.

One thought on “My Very Own Listicle

Leave a Reply

